“A masterclass in suspenseful character-driven prose fiction. Simply exceptional.”

FRANK DARABONT – Writer and Director of The Shawshank Redemption and The Green Mile.

“A wildly entertaining story that grabs you on page one and drags you into its dark world kicking and screaming.”

NEW YORK TIMES (EDITORS’ CHOICE)

“A blood-pumping, nerve-shredding thriller–elegant, edgy, ingenious . . . as exciting a house of horrors as I’ve ever visited. You’ll enter both with dread. You’ll dwell in them with relish.”

A. J. FINN - #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

“A truly frightening story, one that gets under your skin slowly, then goes deep, like the tip of a butcher knife.”

NEW YORK TIMES (EDITORS’ CHOICE)

“Gloriously diabolical. A terrifying thrill ride through the hidden chasms of the human soul.”

CHRIS BROOKMYRE

Award-winning author Craig Russell’s novels have been translated into twenty-five languages worldwide. Five of his novels have been made into movies (in one of which Craig Russell makes a cameo appearance as a detective). The Devil Aspect was optioned by Columbia Films/Sony Pictures, and Hyde is currently under option for a returning TV series.  He also writes speculative fiction as Christopher Galt.

Craig Russell’s literary rights are represented by Esmond Harmsworth at Aevitas Creative Management, Boston.  Film and TV rights are represented by Georgina Ruffhead at the Haworth Agency, London/Joel Gotler at Intellectual Property Group, Hollywood. 

Latest News | Social Media

facebook icon
Craig Russell Books
Craig Russell Books3 days ago
Huzzah!

A mighty thankyou to the wonderful Craig Russell for nipping in to sign copies of his newest book, Hyde!
Craig Russell Books
Craig Russell Books1 month ago
Got a lift back from the restaurant last night. Beats getting the bus!
Craig Russell Books
Craig Russell Books
Craig Russell Books2 months ago
Great to see THE DEVIL'S PLAYGROUND shortlisted for the CrimeFest eDunnit Award.
Craig Russell Books
Craig Russell Books3 months ago
It's World Book Day, the Oscars are in a couple of days, so appropriate that it's publication day for the British paperback of THE DEVIL'S PLAYGROUND …

Aevitas Creative Management
Little, Brown Book Group
The Crime Vault
Craig Russell Books
Craig Russell Books4 months ago
Just got copies of the British paperback of THE DEVIL'S PLAYGROUND, which comes out on March 6. Beautiful cover design.

Aevitas Creative Management
The Crime Vault Little, Brown Book Group
flickr icon
twitter icon
Feed Them Social: TikTok Feed not loaded, please add your Access Token from the Gear Icon Tab.

TV and Film

CARNEVAL – Trailer

Tivoli Films/ARD movie of Craig Russell’s CARNEVAL

Brandmal Film Trailer

German film version of Craig Russell’s ETERNAL (BRANDMAL in German) Film-Trailer für Craig Russells BRANDMAL

Wolfsfährte – Trailer

TivoliFilm

“Superb! The Devil’s Playground is imagination on steroids! This breathtaking tale–set against America’s favorite backdrop, Hollywood–seamlessly blends noir, gothic, and mystery.  Playground is a guaranteed one-sitting read…  Bravo!”

Jeffery Deaver#1 bestselling author author of The Bone Collector and Hunting Time

“Craig Russell walks a razor’s edge between gothic suspense and horror. The Devil’s Playground conjures rich and riveting elements — all of which come together to create a masterful thriller.”

Lincoln Child#1 New York Times bestselling author

“A blend of murder, noir, and horror set against a fascinating time-trip through Hollywood. The Devil’s Playground is totally engaging.”

Kathy Reichsauthor of the Temperance Brennan series

The Devil’s Playground, set partly in a richly evoked 1920s Hollywood, plays like Chinatown meets The Ring, and it’s the most sheerly entertaining novel I’ve raced through in at least a year … fresh, forceful, elegant but wild.”

A.J. Finnauthor of The Woman in the Window

“Extensively researched… A large cast of characters and extensive use of red herrings make this a complex and atmospheric novel, perfect for fans of Silvia Moreno-Garcia.”

Library Journal

“There’s witchcraft and Voodoo, gunplay, arson, and premature burial…nothing is what it seems to be amid the artifice of Hollywood…. Intriguing and entertaining.”

Kirkus Reviews

“Brilliantly written, with repeated surprises.”

The Critic

“THE DEVIL ASPECT is a wildly entertaining story that grabs you on page one and drags you into its dark world kicking and screaming. Russell has created a truly frightening story, one that gets under your skin slowly, then goes deep, like the tip of a butcher knife. I read the novel one snowy night by the fire, unable to sleep until I finished, then unable to sleep once I had.”

NEW YORK TIMES (EDITORS’ CHOICE)

“A tour de force: a clever and visceral thriller with a one-two-three knockout of an ending that left me dazed. The brooding backdrop of a Czechoslovakia on the brink of World War II just adds another layer of atmosphere to an already nightmarish read.”

LINCOLN CHILD - #1 New York Times bestselling author

“A crime story that transcends the genre. Craig Russell brilliantly uses the character of his tough, funny and hopeful man Lennox to give us the eyes and ears on a time and place. This is storytelling at its very best!”

Michael Connelly

“Steeped in the chilling folklore of Eastern Europe and echoing the dread of a barbaric war to come, The Devil Aspect snatches the reader by the lapels for a thrilling, twisting trip through the darkest corridors of the human mind.”

Daniel H. Wilson - New York Times bestselling author of Robopocalypse

“A blood-pumping, nerve-shredding thriller–elegant, edgy, ingenious. Craig Russell conjures not one but two unforgettable settings: Prague between the wars, pulsing with menace, and a Gothic mental asylum, as exciting a house of horrors as I’ve ever visited. You’ll enter both with dread. You’ll dwell in them with relish.”

A. J. Finn - #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

“Deep, dark, and twisty, The Devil Aspect will keep you up all night reading… With all the lights on. Russell has created a gripping masterpiece of a thriller!”

Alex Grecian - New York Times bestselling author of THE YARD

“A distinctive and exciting new voice in crime fiction… this is gritty, authentic and disturbing stuff”

Mo Hayder

“Lennox is a private eye for the ages. Tough, uncomprising and insightful, with concrete fists and a heart of gold. Russell has brilliantly captured post-war Glasgow and the vulnerability of those left to pick up the pieces.”

Michael Robotham

“In 1935 Prague, vicious murders are linked to a medieval castle housing an insane asylum outside the city in this well-crafted gothic crime tale…. A seasoned writer, Russell keeps the police case moving at a good clip…but nothing to match the ending, which offers more twists than a Chubby Checker album. A smart, atmospheric, and entertaining read but not for the Jung and easily Freudened.”

Kirkus Reviews

“Scalpel-sharp dissection of the nature of evil. A splendidly Gothic story. It is breathtaking.”

DAILY MAIL

Russell writes a pacy, ever-twisting mystery that will keep you turning the pages.

Ian RankinBestselling author of the Rebus series